Early-Career Investigator Awards

Recognizes investigators in the early stages of their careers who have made important contributions to biomedical science through their research in cell/molecular biology, developmental biology, comparative neuroanatomy, or the morphological sciences

Criteria and Eligibility

  • Membership is not required of nominators and nominees
  • Candidates are within 10 years of their highest earned degree at the time of nomination
  • 4 awards are given in these categories: 
    • R.R. Bensley Award in Cell Biology
    • H.W. Mossman Award in Developmental Biology
    • C.J. Herrick Award in Neuroanatomy
    • W.M. Cobb Award in Morphological Sciences 
  • Application materials submitted by the nominator: 
    • Nomination form
    • Letter of recommendation
    • Nominees CV (NIH 4-page biosketch format preferred)
  • Materials submitted by nominee: 
    • 3 representative papers 
  • Reviewed by the Scientific Affairs Committee

Nominate Someone

Call for nominations will be sent out in August 

Submit a Nomination »


November 15


$2,000 Honorarium and $1,500 Travel to AAA Annual Meeting