Meet the Candidates for Secretary/Treasurer Elect

Term: 2022-2026  |  Open Positions: 1  |  Candidates: 2

Shaun Logan

Candidate Statement: For an organization that has invested so much in my growth as a scientist and leader, and championed diversity, it would be an honor to serve as Secretary/Treasurer for the American Association for Anatomy (AAA). The association has remained in excellent financial standing due to the committed service and forward thinking of its members and elected officers. As a recent Board Member (2018-2021), I knew my fiduciary responsibly and practiced sound, ethical, and legal governance. My financial management ideals are such that the future of AAA would remain sustainable. My vision for the association is that we continue to provide scientific collaboration, leadership opportunities, research support, and a sense of welcome for all emerging scientists/educators that will inevitably contribute to the all encompassing field of anatomy.

Current Position/Institution: Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Sciences, Texas A&M College of Dentistry

Ph.D. Institution:
Ph.D. in Pharmacology & Neuroscience, University of North Texas Health Science Center, 2009

Earlier Positions:
Research Scientist (2014-2017), Department of Biomedical Sciences, Texas A&M College of Dentistry; Clinical Research Consortia Lead (2013-2014), Dava Oncology; Postdoctoral Fellow (2010-2013), Neuroscience, Texas A&M Health Science Center/Baylor College of Dentistry

[Current] Biological Foundations of Dentistry (1st year dental students); Human Structure, Function, and Disease I (1st year dental students); Human Structure Function and Disease II (1st year dental students); Dental Pharmacology (2nd year dental students); Introduction to the Human Body (undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students); [Past] General Histology (1st year dental students); Neuroscience (1st year dental students); Clinical Pharmacology (dental residents); Responsible Conduct in Research (graduate students)

AAA Committee/Roles:
Anatomy Scholars Program (ASP) Working Group (2021); Symposium organizer (2020); Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion Committee (2019-2020); Board of Directors (2018-2021); Strategic Plan Metric Task Force (2018); Diversity and Inclusion Task Force (2017-2019)

Other Professional Activities:
FASEB DEAI Subcommittee (Family Care Awards); FASEB MARC Faculty Mentor; Texas A&M College of Dentistry Dental and Dental Hygiene Admission Committees; Texas A&M College of Dentistry Student Promotions Committee; Texas A&M College of Dentistry Oral Biology Graduate Program in Biomedical Sciences Committee
Texas A&M College of Dentistry-Dental Teacher of the Year Finalist (2020, 2021); Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, Texas A&M College of Dentistry (2020); Teacher of the Summer Pre-Dental Enrichment Program Collegiate II (2015-2021)

Research Interest:
Neuroscience: drug development for neurological disorders such as Alzheimer Disease, as well as, nerve regeneration and its implications for paralysis. Developmental Biology: molecular mechanisms involved in palate fusion. Education research: novel strategies to integrate anatomy into other disciplines.

Other Professional Memberships Currently Maintained: Society for Neuroscience, American Association for Dental, Oral, and Craniofacial Research, and American Dental Education Association

All Candidates

Secretary/Treasurer Elect

Raj Ettarh
Shaun Logan

Board of Directors

Melissa Carroll
Tamara Franz-Odendaal
Casey Holliday
Katherine Willmore

Student/Postdoc Directors

Andrew Cale
Tarimobo Otobo

Program Co-Chair

Angelo Iulianella
Paul Kulesa