Meet the Candidates for Board of Directors

Term: 2024-2027  |  Open Positions: 2  |  Candidates: 4

Wade Grow, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Anatomy, Midwestern University – Glendale (Faculty 2001-2023, Professor 2008-2023, Chair 2011-2023)

Candidate Statement: As a member of the Board of Directors, I would be a strong advocate for the AAA mission to advance anatomical science through research, education, and professional development. As Chair of the largest Anatomy Department in the country with 17 Anatomy faculty, I would bring a unique perspective and expertise to the Board of Directors. A guiding vision for me would be to continue to develop new initiatives to retain young anatomists. As past Chair of ACYA, we reorganized the student awards, and then encouraged award winners to join the ACYA or other AAA committees. Many did so, and used that experience as a stepping stone to the AAA Board of Directors or other leadership positions. Involving young anatomists on committees increases retention. Furthermore, I have broad interest in the issues currently facing AAA. I would like to be involved in finding a solution for legacy donor remains. This could include local solutions and maybe even a national solution. Finally, I value the personal interactions I've had through AAA, and it is especially gratifying to mentor and enhance the careers of young anatomists. A continuing focus on young anatomists by the AAA and the AAA Board of Directors is important for the current and future health of the association.

 Ph.D. Institution: Ph.D. Zoology, University of Idaho, 1994

 Earlier Positions: Assistant Professor of Biology, Eastern Michigan University (1998-2000); Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Arizona, Developmental Neuroscience (1995-1998)

 Teaching: [Current] Course Director third quarter of Anatomical Sciences (for medical and podiatric students); Anatomy (for OT students); Neuroscience (for OT, SLP, and Behavioral Sciences students); Histology (for dental and optometry students)

 AAA Committee/Roles: Member ACYA (2000-2004); Chair ACYA (2002-2004); Member AAA Nominating Committee (2003); Member AAA Membership Committee (2002-2004); Symposium organizer (2002)

 Other Professional Activities: Councilor for Association of Anatomy, Cell Biology and Neurobiology Chairpersons (AACBNC; 2017-2019); Member AACBNC Nominating Committee (2018)

Awards: House Advisor of the Year, Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine (AZCOM), Midwestern University – Glendale (2021); Best Dressed award, AZCOM Student Choice Awards (2018, 2016)

 Research Interest: Neuromuscular synapse formation

 Other Professional Memberships Currently Maintained: Association of Anatomy, Cell Biology and Neurobiology Chairpersons (AACBNC); Society for Neuroscience (SFN)

 Web Link: