Media Contact

Bill Rowan
Director, Communications & Marketing

American Association of Anatomists to Change Name, Install New Board Members

Members cast historic vote to position association as the voice for anatomical science

February 11, 2019

ROCKVILLE, MD—The 2,100-member American Association of Anatomists (AAA) is getting a new name, approved by members in the organization’s annual board election.

Founded in 1888 by paleontologist Joseph Leidy as the Association of American Anatomists, the organization has been known by its current name since 1908. Now, AAA members have voted to change the organization’s name for only the second time in its 130-year history. The scientific society will become known as the American Association for Anatomy.

“AAA supports and promotes all aspects of anatomical sciences in education and scientific research. It’s important that our identity reflect that,” said AAA President Phil Brauer, Ph.D., Chair of Anatomy at Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences. “Our goal is to prepare the association for a strong, vibrant, and inclusive future. The new name helps us to emphasize the discipline rather than the profession and encourages scientists, educators, students, and the public to recognize anatomy as a foundational science.”

AAA Executive Director Shawn E. Boynes, FASAE, CAE, added, “In 2017, the board began laying the groundwork for changing the association’s name when they developed and approved an ambitious strategic plan with specific goals to focus more externally and to address diversity and inclusion in membership. Association leadership and staff are thrilled to open our doors to, and be the voice of, more people studying, teaching, and researching anatomy.”

AAA has engaged Gavilan & Associates and GRAPHEK Design Studio to research and conceptualize the association’s new identity.

Along with the name change, members chose their newest volunteer leaders. Five newly-elected officers will be installed to AAA’s 14-member board at its annual meeting in April in Orlando. They are:

Valerie DeLeon, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Anthropology at the University of Florida. Dr. DeLeon has served on AAA’s Board of Directors since 2014 and will become President-Elect for a two-year term, 2019-2021. She has also served on AAA’s Program Committee, Strategic Planning Committee, and Advisory Committee for Young Anatomists.

Bryon Grove, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences. As the association’s incoming Treasurer, Dr. Grove will serve a four-year term, 2019-2023. He has served on AAA’s Journal Trust Fund Investment Committee and Finance Committee since 2015.

Julia Boughner, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology at the University of Saskatchewan, Canada. Dr. Boughner is a AAA Innovations Program Award recipient and will serve a three-year term as Director, 2019-2022.

Maria Serrat, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biomedical Sciences and Clinical and Translational Sciences and Clinical Associate Professor of Orthopaedics at the Marshall University Joan C. Edwards School of Medicine. Dr. Serrat will serve a three-year term as Director, 2019-2022. She is a past recipient of AAA’s Young Faculty Presentation Award and Basmajian Award, as well as a AAA Postdoctoral Fellowship.

Diana Rigueur, Ph.D., Postdoc Scholar/Research Associate at the Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology, University of Southern California. Dr. Rigueur was a first-place postdoctoral poster winner at Experimental Biology 2018 and will serve a three-year term as Student/Postdoc Director, 2019-2022.

About AAA: The American Association of Anatomists serves as the professional home for an international community of biomedical researchers and educators focusing on the structural foundation of health and disease. AAA advances anatomical science through research, education, and professional development.